Duma Music, Inc.  

Music publishers and distributors since 1985

The music of Scott Aaron Miller

Scott Aaron Miller was born in 1962 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and has been a composer and cellist since the 1970s. In 1992, he earned an M.A. in composition and theory from the University of Minnesota, where he studied with Paul Fetler and Dominick Argento. As cellist, Mr. Miller studied with Don Homuth, David Kaderauch and Tanya Remenikova, and has been a member of orchestras in Minnesota, California and Oregon. As composer, he has written works for orchestra, chamber orchestra, various chamber groups, chorus, piano and other solo instruments. In 2019, Mr. Miller won the annual award from the Minnesota Sinfonia’s New Works by Minnesota Composers Project, funded in part by the McKnight Foundation, for his work “Dialogues for Chamber Orchestra”. Mr. Miller’s music demonstrates facility in a variety of styles, a rich palette of colors and textures, and poignant lyricism.

Works by Scott Aaron Miller available from Duma Music:

Piano Quartet. For violin, viola, cello and piano. This work is filled with dramatic turns and heartfelt outcries, intensely reflecting the thought of the end of a cherished relationship. From the life of the composer.
Duration: 7'30"
$29.95 (score and parts)

Romance for violin and pianoA lyric piece showcasing the violin's singing and expressive tone. It is intimate in tone, but also possesses an introspective kind of drama.
Duration: 5'30"
$9.95 (score and part)

Serenade in Silk for string orchestraSerenade in Silk highlights all the beauty and variety of the string orchestra, from quiet moments of repose, to rich, climactic passages. Of medium length, its melodic, and at times almost cinematic character gives the orchestra the opportunity to revel in its own unique sound.
Duration: 9'20"
$124.95 (score and parts)

Sonata for cello and piano. A work of emotional depth and wide-ranging scope, the Sonata for cello and piano combines classic idiomatic writing for the cello with an expressive and coloristic piano part. Sweeping melodic cello lines and rewarding interplay between the instruments make it a welcome addition to the modern cellist's repertoire.
Duration: 21 min.
$29.95 (score and part)

Three Vignettes for string quartet. The Vignettes were conceived as a fun set of character pieces that are neither too long, too easy, nor dauntingly difficult. The movements describe different archetypes familiar to all players and listeners, with moods ranging from pensive to manic.
Duration: 6 min.
$29.95 (score and parts)